

Council

Monday, 5 September 2022

Appointment of Committees for the remainder of the 2022/23 Civic Year

Report by: Monitoring Officer

Contact Officer: Katie Storr

Democratic Services & Elections Team Manager

katie.storr@west-lindsey.gov.uk

Purpose / Summary: This report sets out the wishes expressed by

political groups in respect of appointment of Members to serve on the Committees of the Council for the remainder of the 2022/2023 civic

year.

RECOMMENDATION(S):

In accordance with the provisions of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the wishes expressed by political groups, Members be appointed to serve to the Council's Committees for the remainder of the 22/23 civic year as set out within this report (or provided verbally at the meeting).

IMPLICATIONS



Title and Location of any Background Papers used in the preparation of this report:

Notices received from the Group Leaders on the allocation of Committee/ Sub -Committee places - documents available from the Guildhall, Gainsborough (on request).

Risk Assessment :						
Call in and Urgency:						
Is the decision one which Rule 14.7 of the Scrutiny Procedure Rules apply?						
i.e. is the report exempt from being called in due to urgency (in consultation with C&I chairman)	Yes		No			
Key Decision:						
A matter which affects two or more wards, or has significant financial implications	Yes		No			

1. Introduction

- 1.1 In accordance with the provision of section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, it is the duty of the Council to make appointments to Committees in accordance with the wishes expressed by political groups following the determination under section 15 (the allocation of seats to political groups).
- 1.2 Section 2 details the wishes expressed by the political groupsⁱ

2. Appointment of Committees

2.1 Chief Officer Employment Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Jackie Brockway
Councillor Stephen Bunney
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Lesley Rollings
Councillor Anne Welburn
Councillor Trevor Young

2.2 Corporate Policy and Resources Committee (13 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Matt Boles
Councillor Steve Bunney
Councillor Liz Clews
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Ian Fleetwood
Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan
Councillor John McNeill
Councillor Mandy Snee
Councillor Jeff Summers
Councillor Bob Waller
Councillor Anne Welburn
Councillor Trevor Young

2.3 Governance and Audit Committee (7 Members)

Councillor Stephen Bunney Councillor Jackie Brockway Councillor Chris Darcel Councillor Tracey Coulson Councillor Caralyne Grimble Councillor John McNeill Councillor Angela White

2.4 Licensing Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

2.5 Regulatory Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Liz Clews

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Tim Davies

Councillor Caralyne Grimble

Councillor Paul Howitt-Cowan

Councillor Cordelia McCartney

Councillor Angela Lawrence

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Keith Panter

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Diana Rodgers

Councillor Jim Snee

Councillor Jeff Summers

2.6 Planning Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Matthew Boles

Councillor David Cotton

Councillor Mick Devine

Councillor David Dobbie

Councillor Steve England

Councillor Ian Fleetwood

Councillor Cherie Hill

Councillor Jessie Milne

Councillor Peter Morris

Councillor Roger Patterson

Councillor Judy Rainsforth

Councillor Jeff Summers

Councillor Bob Waller

Councillor Angela White

2.7 Prosperous Communities Committee (15 Members)

Councillor Owen Bierley
Councillor Stephen Bunney
Councillor Liz Clews
Councillor Tracey Coulson
Councillor Chris Darcel
Councillor Mick Devine
Councillor Jane Ellis
Councillor Cordelia McCartney
Councillor John McNeill
Councillor Jessie Milne
Councillor Jaime Oliver
Councillor Roger Patterson
Councillor Jim Snee
Councillor Mandy Snee
Councillor Trevor Young

2.8 Overview and Scrutiny Committee (14 Members)

Councillor Tracey Coulson	
Councillor Tim Davies	
Councillor Caralyne Grimble	
Councillor Cherie Hill	
Councillor Cordelia McCartney	
Councillor Peter Morris	
Councillor Roger Patterson	
Councillor Diana Rodgers	
Councillor Bob Waller	
Councillor	ii

The Liberal Democrat Group have since May 2022 indicated they will not be taking up their seats on this Committee. The re-balance has provided further opportunity for this position to be re-considered.

In the event that no nominations are received, the additional Members appointed in July 2022, will be eligible to serve on the Committee, should they wish.

(Councillors J Brockway, C Darcel, P Howitt-Cowan and J McNeill)

¹ At time of issue nominations were awaited, this report will be refreshed in the lead up to the meeting

Friday 2/9 – remaining blanks are seats afforded to the Liberal Democrat Group.